Approved Debt Securities Issuers

Home / Financial Institutions / Broker/Dealers & Counterparties / Approved Debt Securities Issuers

The Treasurer's Office actively maintains a list of approved debt securities issuers that are authorized and suitable for investments. These entities are reviewed on a regular basis for continuing creditworthiness and eligibility pursuant to requirements under state statutes and agency policies. The list includes a variety of securities issuers, dealers and funds, including:


In line with the Treasurer's commitment to community development and accountability, it is important to note that all securities issuers listed below that have a Community Reinvestment Act (CRA) rating (i.e. banks and financial institutions) maintain a rating of "outstanding" or "satisfactory" (as of August 1, 2020).


Attention Broker/Dealers: For a detailed list of approved counterparty programs which includes ratings, restrictions, tickers and cusips, click here


Commercial Paper Issuers

3M Co


AllianceBernstein LP

Alphabet Inc Inc

American Express Co

Apple Inc

Archer-Daniels-Midland Co

Automatic Data Processing Inc

Baker Hughes Co


Bristol-Myers Squibb Co

Caterpillar Inc

Chevron Corp

Cisco Systems Inc

Citigroup Inc

Colgate-Palmolive Co

Danaher Corp

Deere & Co

Eli Lilly & Co

Exxon Mobil Corp

GlaxoSmithKline PLC

Honeywell International Inc


IBM Corp

Illinois Tool Works Inc

ING Group

Intel Corp

Johnson & Johnson

JPMorgan Chase & Co

Linde Plc (Praxair Inc)

Merck & Co. Inc

MetLife Inc

Microsoft Corp

MUFG Americas Holdings Corp

Nestle SA

NextEra Energy Inc


Novartis AG


PepsiCo Inc

Pfizer Inc

Prudential Financial Inc

Roche Group

Siemens AG

Stanley Black & Decker Inc

TD Bank Group 

The Bank of New York Mellon Corp

The Boeing Co

The Coca-Cola Co

The Depository Trust & Clearing Corp

The Hershey Co

The Home Depot Inc

The PNC Financial Services Group Inc

The Proctor & Gamble Co

The Walt Disney Co

United Parcel Service Inc

UnitedHealth Group Inc

US Bancorp


Corporate Bond Issuers

3M Co

Alphabet Inc Inc

Apple Inc

Archer-Daniels-Midland Co

Automatic Data Processing Inc

Bank of America Corp

Bristol-Myers Squibb Co

Caterpillar Inc

Chevron Corp

Cisco Systems Inc

Citigroup Inc

Colgate-Palmolive Co

Deere & Co

Eli Lilly & Co

Exxon Mobil Corp

Honeywell International Inc

Illinois Tools Works Inc

Intel Corp

Johnson & Johnson

JPMorgan Chase & Co

Merck & Co. Inc

Microsoft Corp



PepsiCo Inc

Pfizer Inc

Roche Group

The Bank of New York Mellon Corp

The Coca-Cola Co

The Home Depot Inc

The PNC Financial Services Group Inc

The Procter & Gamble Co

The Walt Disney Co

Truist Financial Corp

UnitedHealth Group Inc

United Parcel Service Inc

US Bancorp


Repo Dealers

Bank of Montreal/Chicago (Bank of Montreal)

BMO Capital Markets Corp (Bank of Montreal)

HSBC Securities USA Inc (HSBC PLC)

Mizuho Securities USA Inc (Mizuho Financial Group)

Northern Trust Co (Northern Trust Corp)

Scotia Capital USA Inc (The Bank of Nova Scotia)

SunTrust Robinson Humphrey Inc (Truist Financial Corp)


Agencies and Treasuries

Federal Agricultural Mortgage Corp

Federal Farm Credit Banks Funding Corp

Federal Home Loan Banks

Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corp

Federal National Mortgage Association

Tennessee Valley Authority

US Small Business Administration

US Treasury


Supranational Issuers

African Development Bank Group

International Bank for Reconstruction and Development

International Finance Corporation

Inter-American Development Bank


Money Market Funds

BlackRock Liquidity Funds (Cabrera Capital Markets LLC)

DWS ESG Liquidity Funds

Federated Institutional Prime Obligations Funds

Federated US Treasury Cash Reserves

Goldman Sachs Financial Square Fund (Drexel Hamilton LLC)

Invesco Short-Term Investments Trust

JPMorgan Prime Money Market Funds (Academy Securities Inc)

Morgan Stanley Institutional Liquidity Funds

Northern Institutional Funds (Siebert Williams Shank & Co LLC)

Western Asset Institutional Government Reserves


Taxable Municipal Securities

Athens Community Unit School District 213

Belleville Public School District 118

Bolingbrook Park District

Calumet City School District 155

Campton Township

Champaign Community Unit School District 4

Chicago Housing Authority

Chicago Park District

City of Champaign

City of Chicago Illinois Water Fund

City of Collinsville

City of Evanston

City of Moline

City of Park Ridge

City of Rock Falls

City of Rockford

City of Wood Dale

Coal City Community Unit School District 1

Community High School District 218

Community Unit School District 300

County of Winnebago

Decatur Park District

Evanston Township High School District 202

Forest Preserve District of Kane County

Fulton Community Unit School District 3

Geneseo Community Unit School District 228

Homer Community Consolidated School District 33C

Illinois Environmental Protection Agency

Illinois Housing Development Authority

Indian Prairie Community Unit School District 204

Joliet Junior College Community College District 525

Komarek School District 94

Lewis and Clark Community College District 536

Maercker School District 60

Maine Township High School District 207

McLean County Unit School District 5

Midland Community Unit School District 7

Minooka Community Consolidated School District 201

Moline-Coal Valley School District 40

Moraine Valley Community College District 524

Morton College Community College District 527

Naperville Park District

North Palos Elementary School District 117

Northfield Township High School District 225

Park Ridge-Niles School District 64

Peotone Community Unit School District 207U

Plainfield Community Consolidated School District 202

Reavis High School District 220

Regional Transportation Authority

Roselle School District 12

Roxana Community Unit School District 1

Sales Tax Securitization Corporation

Sparta Community Unit School District 140

St George Community Consolidated School District 258

Sycamore Community Unit School District 427

Thornton Township High School District 205

Troy Community Consolidated School District 30-C

Urbana School District 116

Village of Addison

Village of Bedford Park

Village of Buffalo Grove

Village of Channahon

Village of Northbrook

Village of Oak Park

Village of Orland Park

Village of Palatine

Village of Rosemont

Village of Skokie

Village of South Holland

Warren Township High School District 121

Wauconda Community Unit School District 118

West Aurora School District 129

West Northfield School District 31

Woodland Community Consolidated School District 50



Disclaimer: The Office of the Illinois State Treasurer does not endorse or recommend any companies, products, or services. Therefore, this list does not constitute or imply an endorsement or recommendation. This list is being provided solely for informational purposes. This list is subject to change without notice, and the companies on it are not guaranteed to remain as approved counterparties. Being an approved debt securities issuer does not imply or promise that a company will receive work from the Office of the Illinois State Treasurer.