19th Amendment Commemorative Coin

Home / Office of the Treasurer / 19th Amendment Commemorative Coin

19th Amendment Commemorative Coin Banner Image

On June 4, 1919, Congress passed the 19th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution which prohibits the states and the federal government from denying the right to vote to citizens of the United States on the basis of sex. It was ratified by the Illinois General Assembly on June 10, 1919, followed by 35 other states. The 19th amendment became part of the U.S. Constitution August 26, 1920 and enfranchised 26 million American women in time for the 1920 U.S. Presidential Election. To mark the historic moment in our history, and the important role Illinois played, the Treasurer's Office commissioned the design and limited production of a commemorative coin.

Click here to purchase a coin. 

19th Amendment Commemorative Coin Sample Image of Face

JNL Graphic Design in Chicago designed the image on the face of the coin which was selected by members of the Commemorative Coin Selection Committee. The design draws inspiration from the placards, signs and language carried by thousands of women during the Suffragist movement. MTM Recognition jewelry manufacturing facility in Princeton, IL will mint this specially crafted coin sized 1.5" in quality silver (1 troy ounce of .999 fine silver). The cost of each coin is $65 and includes shipping and handling. Buy yours today!


The Treasurer's Office thanks the following members of the Commemorative Coin Selection Committee for their help and service in making the 19th Amendment Commemorative Coin a reality: 

  • Lt. Governor Juliana Stratton
  • Senator Ann Gillespie
  • Senator Mattie Hunter
  • Representative Deb Conroy
  • Representative Katie Stuart


Click Here to Purchase a 19th Amendment Commemorative Coin

If you have any questions about an order, please contact webmaster@illinoistreasurer.gov.