Heritage Month Celebrations

Home / Office of the Treasurer / Heritage Month Celebrations
Treasurer Michael Frerichs Celebrates Diversity in Illinois Treasurer Michael Frerichs Celebrates Diversity in Illinois

Illinois is a colorful collection of communities reflecting the diversity of our great nation. It’s one of our greatest strengths. Throughout the year, Treasurer Frerichs celebrates Illinois' diverse identity through a series of heritage month celebrations. During each month, the Treasurer and his advisory councils collect nominations and select awardees who are invested in giving back to their communities. In 2021, the Treasurer's began capturing video conversations with each awardee in efforts to broadcast their story on social media. Our goal is to amplify and inspire tomorrow's leaders with words of inspiration from today's.





Women's History Month Banner

Outstanding Service in Arts & Humanity

Marlena Ascher

Outstanding Commitment as an Elected Official
State Representative Deb Conroy

Outstanding Commitment in Community Service

Karen Tamley, President and CEO of Access Living

Outstanding Achievement in Sportsmanship

Jonelle McCloud, Manager, Peoria Procter Recreational Center 

Outstanding Achievement in Workforce and Labor

Doris Carroll, Past President of the Illinois Nurses' Association, Vice President affiliate of the IL AFL-CIO, and delegate with the Chicago Federation of Labor


Treasurer Frerichs Celebrates Black History Month

Outstanding Service in Business
Max Russell: Russell Heating & Air LLC


Outstanding Service in Arts and Humanity
Kathryn Harris


Outstanding Service in Leadership
Leslie J. Anderson: BMO Harris Bank


Outstanding Commitment in Education
Dr. Sharon Desmoulin Kherat


Outstanding Achievement in Workforce and Labor
George Alexander: LIUNA Laborer's Local 477


Outstanding Commitment in Community Service
Carlos Nelson: Greater Auburn Gresham Development Corporation


Outstanding Commitment as Elected Official
Senator Jacqueline Collins


Outstanding Achievement in Sportsmanship
Darrin Jackson: Chicago White Sox